Some people think human behaviors can be limited by laws, others think laws have little effect. What is your opinion?

Some people argued that restricting human behaviors with strict regulation such as drinking alcohol in open spaces, smoking, and carrying guns alone would positively affect the community's safety. In contrast, others think bonding the public behavior, and their freedom has negative consequences, like encouraging them to find another way to continue their unacceptable desires. In my opinion, governments have applied the red line of laws for those who flout the rules. So, both statements have factual features that I will explain in my upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, nowadays, many communities have been suffered from people who freely conduct illegal and abnormal behavior in society. Moreover, these unusual manners would affect public behavior long-term and have catastrophic consequences without any prompt act. For instance, in the past twenty years, in Iran, the police force's behavior has been altered by the weakness of law and regulations. They have been abusing their powers in the wrong ways and have caused much cryptic insight against the law approved in the parliament. So, the actions that happened from police can eventuate anarchy in the country. At the same time, limiting their legal authority, such as using their guns on specific occasions, is needed. On the other hand, several people believed that applying the severe limitation for people's daily behavior that will suffer their freedom in the future, in that case, would negatively influence the community's prosperity and dynamism. For instance, in the past 20 years, the Chinese government have been implementing restriction such as reducing the internet-based social networks like Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and Telegram. Therefore, people have held demonstrations against the government in different cities, and many destructions happened during those days. To conclude, people have various insights and opinions about limiting their behavior from their natural and virtual lives. In my opinion, conducting strict regulations can have positive effects in the short term but might have fruitless influences in the long term.