Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

In the last few years, there has been a significant increase in the usage of computers, especially for educational purposes. While some people think there are huge benefits to it, others believe it is resulting in adverse effects. I strongly agree with the latter notion and this essay would discuss both views in detail. Technology has opened our world to opportunities that we never thought was possible. One of the major advantages of using computers for schooling is that it allows us to assess education from any part of the world. For example, a student in China can remotely attend lectures taking place in the United Kingdom via online platforms, hence, the need to travel has been greatly reduced. In addition, through the help of computers, we can also understand the cultures and lifestyles of different nations of the world without visiting those places. On the contrary, those who are not in favour of using computers for education can argue that it has increased the level of plagiarism worldwide. With face to face teaching, students get the opportunity to produce original work because they are watched by their teachers. This enables the tutors to know their student's abilities and their areas of deficiency which is impossible to achieve with technology. Furthermore, research has shown that eye-related illnesses are significantly on the increase as a result of spending several hours on the computer which is fast becoming a trend in today's world. In conclusion, computers have greatly affected our educational system in various ways. While some individuals think its effects are positive others do not. I concur with the argument that the impact of computers on education is positive rather than negative.