Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can'f afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

People are unaware of the ways to handle their finances resulting in poor monetary decisions and unfortunate life events. They cannot discern effective spending from wasting money and so, they begin to spend senselessly until they are drowning deep in debt. To stop this from happening, one should recognise this pattern and divert their attention elsewhere with whatever help one can get. Getting attracted to something and possessing it in exchange for money can be very alluring to the point that it is addicting. The idea that anything can be owned with wealth can make a person spend innumerable sums just to satisfy his superficial desires. For instance, during this process, the spender only focuses on achieving the material and not their capability to attend to it. This addiction keeps fueling the next big purchase. While it is a difficult problem to solve, it is not impossible. As many other addictions work, this particular type also works in a similar manner. The person, addicted to mindless spending, ought to be taken to psychotherapy and counselling, which can cause him to shift his focal vision to other sensible things. Close relatives or friends should be there to direct him to refrain from such activities. In doing so, he will try to see things in a different light, although, with a strenuous effort. In conclusion, people in debt due to wasting money on silly things are those who are addicted to doing so or not in their right mind. Therefore, with a sound treatment of their causes, they can function well in financial aspects.