Some people tend to buy latest models of phones, computers or other technologies. Why people buy latest models? Is it good or bad?

We are living in a consumer society. People these days buy new gadgets like cell phones, computers, and laptops. People buy these new things due to attractive schemes from suppliers and to follow the latest trends, which can only be seen as a negative thing. Firstly, people buy new electronic devices as soon as they are launched in the market. They are persuaded by the suppliers that purchasing the latest products will not only make them happy and satisfied but also enhance their status in society. For instance, recently an Apple I phone advertisement showcased a couple who expresses their joy after purchasing the latest series of cell phones and were given wealthy remarks by their colleagues. Therefore, people are encouraged in various forms by suppliers to buy the latest products. Secondly, human beings purchase new devices to follow the latest trends. Mobile phones and various electronic gadgets have become a fashion accessory for youths, and they buy these products to be in fashion. For example, according to a recent poll, 45% of youths between the ages of 23- 27 purchased new cell phones and headphones only to show their peers that they are after the latest fashion of a high-value brand. As a result, youths buy new devices to follow ongoing fashion. Finally, people purchasing the latest products is a bad thing as it causes more harm to the environment and human beings. Most of the products have excess packaging to attract customers, which only results in more non-biodegradable waste; thus, causing pollution. Since every other day, there are new products entering the market, human beings' happiness does not last long with the purchased product, which makes them unsatisfied even after purchasing the new devices. In conclusion, suppliers attractive advertisements and a fashion to buy the latest devices are a couple of reasons people are purchasing new cellphones and various electronic products, which is only degrading the environment by causing pollution and making people unhappy even after purchasing the new products.