Following fashion is crucial. Do you a agree or disagree?

In modern society, the increasing amounts of clothing advertisements and model shows imply that fashion trends are going to be an essential factor in our life. Personally, it seems to me that it is only a promotion strategy and we should dress in what we like rather than simply follow it. Socially speaking, everyone should have a sense of self-awareness before deciding to follow any popular trends. In other words, it is people themselves instead of designers that should choose what they wear every day. Because fashion designs primarily exist as a form of creative artistic expression of the designer. Obviously, they are not designed for a particular person or community. If one ignores this important truth, people would likely be a victim of fashion. Furthermore, from a perspective of individuality, everyone has their own personality, identity, and preference, which leads to a diverse world. However, this diversity will significantly lose if people follow the same stylish trends and hence choose similar colour and clothing. Also, economically, following fashion trends frequently means putting a heavy burden on people's budget, which is absolutely not a smart idea in today's recessionary conditions. Admittedly, some people still believe that stylish clothing is a necessity in daily life. They argue that people should dress in their up-to-date suites for formal occasions such as weddings and theatre. Also, they particularly believe that fashion clothing is a requirement for all singers and actors because they are symbols of fashion. In conclusion, I would argue that it is unnecessary for most people to follow the latest clothing trends in their daily life. They only need to prepare several popular items of clothing for particular occasions. In terms of megastars, however, I believe their careers require them to put emphasis on current clothing trends.