Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Mobile phones and computers have now become gadgets of our daily use, and hardly can you meet a youngster who would not be adept at using them thanks to constant usage of these devices, mostly for communication with their peers. There are people who think that this trend of increased usage of electronic devices is to blame for the young generation’s deteriorating reading and writing skills. Despite the fact that this claim does have logical ground, I believe that there are more significant factors causing this issue, and there are many benefits to be harvested from the use of modern technology. It is reasonable to say that the growing amount of time modern youth spend glued to their computer/phone screens worsens their performance in writing and reading. First of all, too much exposure to screen light is medically proven to deteriorate one’s vision; and too much time spent with headphones on, combined with noise pollution in modern cities, can cause early issues with hearing, or even its loss. Moreover, the popular content young people consume on social media and share with each other is also a source of worry for both health experts and the youth’s parents. Short videos on such platforms as YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, and others alike last only for about 10 seconds, and overconsumption of content with such short duration is proven to significantly reduce the attention span of its consumers. Reduction of one’s attention span causes loss of concentration, which, in turn, makes reading and writing troublesome and unpleasant. Despite the facts listed above, there are more significant factors that are causing the young generation’s literacy to deteriorate. First of all, it is the quality of general education, which is an object of many complaints from parents from all across the globe. Also, parents themselves are raising “iPad kids”, preferring to give their kids some kind of gadget to keep them entertained and silent instead of actually investing both effort and time into their upbringing. Technology alone should not be blamed for the youngsters’ poor literacy. Moreover, it can actually benefit their education and even ease their academic life. There are programs for younger children such as Duolingo Kids or Alphabet with MOONZY that are created to teach kids how to read and write through a gamified process. For children of older age and teenagers, there are programs such as Drops, Duolingo, or EduPlan, which are designed for various purposes to benefit the users’ academic lives – from helping memorizing new words to creating an individual study plan that matches one’s learning style. In conclusion, the increasing use of gadgets by the younger generation might cause problems with their eyesight or hearing ability; and the content on social media can reduce their attention span, causing problems with concentration. But these are not the main causes of young people’s issues with their literacy, as the poor education system and their parents are also responsible. In addition, technology’s possible aid for people’s education through various apps and programs should not be ignored, as it can make a significant difference.