Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling is a much-discussed matter nowadays by its significant role in saving the planet. Some people surmise that introducing laws is the prime way to increase people's attitudes toward recycling. The idea seems logical to me based on some grounds which will be explained in this essay. Firstly, it is a widely-held belief that people tend to follow legal matters more accurately. It means that they unconsciously comply with actions accepted as laws more willingly than those not. For instance, many people obey the traffic rules due to being laws rather than their own safety. There is no exception for this matter, and thus, provided that recycling the waste was legislated as a law, people would comply with the rule precisely. Subsequently, the increase in recycling could lessen the environmental problems. Moreover, making recycling a legal requirement helps increase public information about rubbish disposal procedures and their beneficial consequences in saving the environment. Thus, it substantially leads to an increase in people's loyalty to the establishing law and the engagement of citizens. Admittedly, those who oppose the idea of considering recycling as a law claim that people should not be forced to carry out an action. Provided that the authorities inform them about the positive influences of recycling on saving the Earth, they would do the action spontaneously. However, introducing laws forces those who do not care about environmental issues. To conclude, it would appear that making recycling a legal requirement help to expand doing it among people, as they tend to bring about the actions accepted as rules more accurately.