Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays we live in a world that is bombarded with adverts from left, right and centre. While some people believe that advertisements force us to buy products that are not necessary, others argue that it is informative. I tend to agree with the former statement, and in this essay, I will support my views with examples. Adverts are any form of information by which businesses promote themselves, such as their products or services, and of course in a positive and exaggerating way. Their aim is to sell and earn maximum profit. In this process, the customer is provided with a substantial-quality product or one with the same features as being used. For example, Apple launched the iPhone-13 which has the same features as the old version of iPhone-12 with slight design changes. Just for the fame, 25 per cent of iPhone users upgrade their phone just in Australia. On the one hand, adverts provide valuable information on new products,services or inventions that ease the human effort. For example, an internet-based advertisement helps to find an IELTS teacher with great experience and teaches online. However, most of the web-based adverts result in scams and customers lose their money. According to the Australian Department of Information Technology, 500 million is lost every year due to these kinds of adverts that offer jobs, lottery prices etc. In conclusion, while there are advantages from adverts, such as obtaining information and offers on products, these must be weighed against disadvantages, where people will buy unwanted stuff or end up getting scammed. Personally, I do not agree that adverts improve our lives overall.