Task 2: Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

There is a controversial notion heating a debate over the fact that people waste a myriad of food purchased from shops or restaurants. In my opinion, this essay is devoted to analyzing the reasons why people waste food and some tactics to reduce this issue. Without a shadow of a doubt, there is a wealth of reasons why food waste increases, however, one of which is buying without thinking carefully. For the time being, prices of food are becoming more affordable so people tend to purchase them in large quantities for their family without writing a list, especially discounted food from shops or restaurants. For instance, before the Tet holiday, Vietnamese people have a tendency to purchase meat, vegetable in large numbers because they always worried about food,obviously they cannot eat all of them in only 7 days so they choose to throw them away after Tet. As a result, it is undeniable that buying without detailing a plan can cause food waste. Additionally, some methods can be applied to alleviate the ratios of food waste. Currently, to avoid food waste, a wide range of restaurants choose to charge an extra cost if their customers leave excess food so that it can make customers be more responsible for taking adequate food that they can eat. For example, Dookki restaurants cost more money when their inclines leave too much food with 2$ each person, and after adopting that regulation, more customers take a sufficient amount of food and no more food waste. Hence, charging more fees can make people more conscious of food waste. In conclusion, food waste is caused by various reasons, but buying without thinking is one of them. Furthermore, shops and restaurants should introduce some norms to reduce food waste.