More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

An increasing number of companies are supporting the idea of working from home instead of the daily commute to the office. This change in the work culture has several merits such as a diversified workforce and flexible work hours which outweigh the demerits of the possible reduction in productivity and employee motivation. One of the significant advantages of working remotely is the possibility of increasing workforce diversity. Being able to work from anywhere allows stay-at-home mothers, people with disabilities, and skilled people from around the globe who are not able to continue their careers due to various reasons. For instance, single women who need to stay at home to take care of the family or children will benefit from flexible office hours and yet be able to work to provide for their families. This will also increase the diversity of employees which can have a positive impact on ideas and work culture. Some may suggest that working remotely reduces productivity and restricts building better workplace relationships among colleagues. Working from the comfort of their homes might impact the productivity and outcome of their work, as it is easier to be distracted at home than in an office environment. Another negative impact of this situation that might be suggested is developing workplace connections while coordinating only over the phone and messages rather than meeting in person and brainstorming ideas together. However, I believe this might be improved with better team management, project monitoring, and company events to keep the employees motivated. In conclusion, there are some challenges to keeping people motivated when working virtually, the opportunities created by this outweigh the challenges and should be promoted for a diverse workforce and more stable work -life balance.