Some people think that young people should follow social traditions. Others think that they should be free to have their own way of living and behaving. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial perspectives over the traditional problem. While some claim that the young generation should follow their ancestor’s tradition, the opposite makes a statement that the youngster should be free to live and behave in their own way. While they have their own perks, I would contend that it is optimal to combine both mentioned factors. Without a shadow of a doubt, teenagers should preserve their cultural traditions. Following their traditions lends a hand to maintain the cultural identity of a society. For instance, in Vietnam, the New Year's Eve is the special occasion that people often wear Ao Dai which is a traditional dress that has been handed down from generation to generation. Hence, tradition should be followed by the adolescents. While custom conservation by the young generation is widely acknowledged, the youngsters should learn new ways to live and behave like what they want in freedom. Because adopting new cultures can make a society develop. To be more specific, gender equality can be cited as a compelling example. While in the past, people believed that only male leaders could rule the world, for the time being more and more women have been elected to get the leading role such as Queen Elizabeth of the United Kingdom who has taken the lead for over 70 years. Thus, the young should absorb new cultures by their own approach. In conclusion, besides conserving the forefathers' tradition, the young generation should be free to learn more about other customs and traditions too.