It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a trend moves toward preventing diseases rather than treating them. However, there is an argument whether a public expenditure should be spent mostly on developing a better quality of treatments or encouraging a healthy lifestyle practice. First of all, the medical service is undeniably the most important aspect to be spent on. For instance, during the COVID-19,pandemic the health concern system faced extreme challenges from lack of manpower to no beds available. In order to prevent similar problems, it requires high expenses in quality equipment, adequate health care providers and etc. Therefore, the decision to make medicine a priority is considered a good plan. On the other hand, focusing only on treatments' costs may not be the answer for the good health of all citizens. In the present time, many people have high interests in maintaining their physical abilities. Furthermore, it is believed that to reduce the overflood of patients in hospitals, the primary care concept is a key to reducing the number of them. For illustration, if patients go to clinics or primary care centres instead of hospitals for acute stage diseases, it would lessen the burden and more severe cases can be focused on. As a result, increasing outlays to this aspect is likely to help the overall system in a long run. In conclusion, this essay supports the idea of emphasis on promoting a healthy lifestyle as it is more sustainable and effective for a better quality of life of the population.