International tourism has become more popular in recent decades. However, this can have a considerable impact on the countries which attract large numbers of visitors. What positive and negative effects does tourism have on countries which are popular destinations?

In this contemporary era, there is an increasing number of tourists around the globe. Although this phenomenon could play an instrumental role in flourishing the economy of a country, it could negatively affect historical places, particularly famous spots, due to the huge number of visitors who could unfollow roles, and destroy these spots and this will put financial pressure on authorities. To embark on, tourism is of paramount importance in reinforcing the economy of a nation. In other words,when a large percentage of visitors comes to visit a particular country, they will pay a considerable sum of money for flight tickets, as well as, entry fees which are charged for them; as a result, governments will reap benefits in terms of money. Consequently, the economy of that country will progressively grow. In addition to that the activation of tourism departments can assist many local individuals in securing a job. This can be exemplified by a survey conducted by a group of Iraqi civil society activists who claimed that the figure for foreigners has experienced a dramatic upsurge for the last five years; accordingly, approximately two thousand Iraqi citizens have managed to find jobs such as tour guides or translators. This example shows that tourism is an important factor in securing the future for many locals by offering them a wide variety of opportunities to work. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned points, it can be argued that the availability of numerous visitors at one place, particularly historical sites, makes these places vulnerable to being damaged. Furthermore, maintenance processes of old places can cost governments a considerable sum of money. To illustrate, if hundreds of travellers exist at once, it will be a quite difficult mission to control crowds by organizers and security; therefore, many travellers might unintentionally break certain regulations and do harm to a specific historical piece which may cost thousands of dollars. For instance, in Iraq, severe damage occurred to several unique pieces when the Iraqi authorities allowed unlimited access to tourists in the Iraqi museum; consequently, thousands of dollars were allocated to preserve these artefacts. What can be said here is that a high number of tourists could destroy sensitive sites, and the upkeep processes of these areas might cost governments a huge sum of money. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, it can be assumed that while tourism could strengthen the economy of numerous nations, historical areas can become under threat of damage and destruction which, in turn, can put financial burdens on authorities due to the expensive preservation processes.