With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the global population rises so does the demand for oil and gas, which compels miners to explore new places on Earth to extract new resources. In contemporary settings, however, while I believe that they are beneficial for the increased number of cars and the human race as a whole, I do not agree that the remaining places in the world which are undiscovered should be exploited. With regards to the human population, grease and vapour have become essential for our daily survival. Firstly, there has been an increasing demand for vehicles to cover long distances and transport requires petrol. Secondly, the world relies on gas for various purposes to fulfil our basic needs such as cooking. The production of numerous things is made in such a way that the majority of items demand oil and smoke further. For example, commuting will become difficult without transport that demands oil, whereas factory plants will shut down in case of the absence of organic gas to carry out the process. Consequently, the whole economy will be affected which will also gradually disrupt the countries’ overall system. On the other hand, in order to discover resources, companies have already damaged more than 80% of the world’s forests including wildlife habitats which also resulted in the decline of many magnificent animal species. The planet is already facing the 5th mass extinction due to unethical human activities, therefore, discovering more untapped areas for grease and gas will not only exploit more natural resources but also cause further decline in the tropical jungles and population of wild species. For instance, many companies around the world are doing seismic blasting in oceans to extract oil which has increased noise pollution in the seas as well as killed many marine animals during the process, such as dolphins and whales. Hence, granting access to the petroleum and vapour industry will just be another threat to mother nature. To conclude, nevertheless, petrol and gas have become our daily need for survival, they are also destroying our unique forests and polluting the oceans at the same time. Humans have simply taken the Earth’s natural products for granted. In order to curb climate change, reverse the effects of global warming, and control the increasing interest in oil and gas, individuals must propose stringent environmental policies and laws to use the world’s resources within the ethical boundary.