The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, the high sales of consumer goods have always been the topic of interest. It is argued that these products reflect the advertising power but not the real demand of society. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I contend that people still purchase based on their needs. Without a shadow of a doubt, advertisement plays an imperative role in the increase of productions' sales. Advertising agencies promote their products by using famous people and social influencers in their business. For example, celebrity advertisements convince the buyers that they can achieve a better lifestyle or simply they will have the same stuff with their idols. That is the reason why many branded items such as clothes, perfumes and accessories are high in demand in spite of their prohibitively exorbitant prices compared to their actual value. As a result, advertisements bring a great impact on the sales of products. While the redeeming features of advertisement are widely acknowledged, the demands for commodities are still considered when people add products to their cart. Since not everyone is able to afford a variety of goods to overstock their house, they might need to evaluate the value of these things whether it is worth spending money on. For instance, bottled water like Lavie or Dasani has a significant increase in sales despite no advertising. Therefore, it is undeniable that people still purchase things based on their needs. In conclusion, although advertising acts as a precursor to boost their sales, people are more likely to buy according to their needs.