Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Around the world, it is well known that education is paramount to building societies. However, the way to assess student's performance has been always a debatable topic. I disagree that formal exams are the only effective way to evaluate students. In fact, it is believed that continual assessment is more effective. And this will be proven by analysing the incapability of assessing thoroughly classroom students with just one exam, as well as the earliness of detecting weaknesses using regular evaluations. Firstly, it is inadequate to evaluate scholars’ capabilities in a single test. For instance, it is widely known that students will need soft skills in the course of their lives. Sadly, this is can’t be tested by simple questions on paper. On the other hand, practical courses and projects are very efficient methods in examining different skills such as teamwork and communication. Therefore, it is clear that evaluating children frequently are more productive than one formal exam. Secondly, the progressive assessment method allows for early diagnostic of weak points. For example, each student’s individual needs may not be properly catered to, if not been known in advance. Consequently, examining children as often as possible could help in discovering their flows and working on them. Thus, official examinations ought not to be used as the only way of assessing students due to the lateness in finding problems. In conclusion, formal examinations do not have the necessary capabilities to thoroughly evaluate scholars’ different skills in addition to detecting any weak points soon enough to fix them. For all the above, is disagreed that using exams alone can be satisfactory. After this exhaustive analysis, it is recommended that every school should establish a suitable progressive system to help students improve themselves.