SHOULD GOVERNMENT REGULATE THE FAST FOOD INDUSTRIES IN THE SAME WAY THAT REGULATES THE DRUG, ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO INDUSTRIES?

As the convenience food industries have been constantly developing, many find it a negative trend and suggest that the government should impose strict regulations on these industries. However, from my perspective, I absolutely disagree with the notion mentioned above, and this essay will explain why. To begin with, junk food should not be controlled due to the convenience and taste it brings. Life has been more and more complicated, so people strive literally hard to earn a living. Therefore, little do they have enough time to cook themselves, which makes eating out an appropriate option. Not only is convenience food fast and reasonable, but they are well-made and always available no matter where or when. For instance, Mc’s Donald is president Donald Trump’s favorite, and a vast majority of Americans love eating high-fat foods. On top of that, many believe that fast food is too seriously addictive and toxic that it should be treated in the same way as drugs, alcohol and tobacco; but I highly doubted this suggestion. Admittedly, too much fast food consumption may increase the risk of obesity, high blood pressure, and diabetes, which affects our physical as well as mental health. However, convenience food is completely not as harmful as drugs, alcohol or tobacco; as one can still control how much junk food he or she consumes rather than being dependent on it. In other words, too much fast food consumption might result in some cardiovascular-related problems, while having too much drugs could lead to insomnia, hallucinations, or even fatality. Thus, it is totally unfair to restrict fast food production in the same way as other addictive products. To conclude, it is undeniable that convenience food does contain harmful chemicals or preservatives, fast food remains popular among young people nowadays. However, I strongly oppose the suggestion of imposing a restriction on convenience food industries, especially in the same way as drugs, alcohol and tobacco industries, because comparing junk food and addictive products is like comparing an apple and an orange.