Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals allow technology companies to access their personal information in exchange for entering to software. Although this consent can help companies grow their business, I believe that there are more drawbacks because receiving this sensitive data increases more companies responsibility. The main reason why technology organizations require personal data of users is to make a better progress in their upcoming projects. They collect those data in order to evaluate the needs of their customers and how they can develop their new software in order to meet those satisfaction. The more they know about their target users, the more successful in their sales. For example, in Thailand, before entering line application, you have to provide your name and your identity document. This information is sent directly to the organization and only a few months, there is a launch of new software created for young adults which are the majority of their customers. As a result, this new products make the highest sales rate. However, I believe this is not worth for taking risk because the drawbacks of keeping sensitive information are more severe. Allowing others to access personal data brings more burden to companies because they have to take full responsibility of those information security since receiving it from their users. If the information is being sent accidentally to wrong person or being misused, it will harm the reputation of the company. Moreover, in some cases, this will lead to criminal charges. For instance, in Thailand, offenders confess that they often use leaked sensitive information to commit frauds. In conclusion, even though companies can use personal data as a tool for increasing their sales, they are responsible for the security of those sensitive information which is a heavy duty for them. For these reasons the negatives far outnumber the positives.