Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the necessity of wildlife parks. While some hold a strong view that all kinds of zoos are brutal and they should be restricted, the opposite makes a statement that zoological gardens do wonders for protecting wildlife animals. While the latter is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the former. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is necessary to prohibit zoos which are vicious to animals. It is undeniable to note that most zoos in the world are for business purposes only. Therefore, they will not take animals ’ lives and health into any consideration if they relate to money matters. Phuket zoological destination can be named as a deplorable example. This zoo is convicted to torture and bring a three years old elephant named Dumbo to death. They forced that small animal to work hours to hours to produce riding elephant service and when he did not want to, the zookeeper beated him with a stick in front of the tourists. Therefore, zoos are cruel and they do nothing in wildlife conservation. While the fact that zoos are inhumane and should be banned is widely acknowledged, it is unfair if not mention other kinds of zoos. There are myriad types of zoos in the world and not all of them act as a disturbance to animals ’ lives. For instance, preservation parks produce accommodation and food for threatened animals. Moreover, they even admit animals in critical condition, give them medical service along with special care in order to send them back to nature. Thus, some types of zoos can act as a precursor to save wild animals. In conclusion, while zoological sites do bring favorable influence to preservation projects, it is undeniable to state that zoos are mostly fierce and it is essential to bring them down.