Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There was a prediction from scientists that cars will automatically drive themselves without the interference of humans. Even though this belief creates certain benefits, there will also be some drawbacks from it. The following essay will illustrate both of these aspects and overall I advocate that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, one of the most obvious negative features is that there would be a significant reduction in the driving occupations in the future. In detail, these drivers use their personal vehicles or sign for companies that provide public transportation to earn their living on a daily basis. For instance, people who work in the mobility industry as taxi and bus drivers are very likely to be unemployed because of this development. Consequently, the previous drivers would lose their income and they are at risk of being misoccupied. In addition, another noticeable stumbling block could be that people will lose their driver instinct due to the lack of driving frequently, which could minimize their road trip experience since future technology is set up for daily driving routine. On the other hand, despite the potential drawbacks, I am of the opinion that automatic driving would bring more positive aspects to the community. First and foremost, the most obvious one is that there would be fewers traffic jams, especially at peak hours. To be more specific, future cars are designed so the users could reach the destination in the shortest time due to the fact that they are implemented with numerous advanced technology and equipment. For example, these future cars would be equipped with high-quality sensors that could help the vehicles avoid entering the wrong lane or crashing into objects like other transportation. As a result, the road in the future would witness a dramatic decline of traffic congestion whilst clearing out the path for other vehicles like motorcycles, bikes or even pedestrians so everyone could arrive at their go-to place in time. What is more, thanks to the development of self-driving functions, there would be fewer unwanted accidents while travelling, and the drivers could now participate in time-consuming activities during road trips such as tuning into some mainstream music or finishing their undone assignments. In conclusion, in spite of the possible disadvantages, I still believe that automatic driving cars would be the key to open a new era of civilization. Therefore, it is highly recommended that these future products should be analysed carefully to avoid unintentional risks, and also, these vehicles should be presented to the public at the most affordable cost so everyone could have the opportunity to adopt the future technology.