In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believes the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion

While some people argue it is essential for governments to allocate large amounts of money to the construction of newly constructed railway lines to give service for commuters to move from one city to another, others think it is better for countries to spend the budget on enhancing public transportation that is already available. I agree with the latter group, and in the following essay, I will explain what my reasons are. Some citizens believe in the idea which says new is better. They consider newer equipment and devices more efficient and useful, and that is why they would rather replace their old railway lines with new ones. To illustrate this, it can be observed in some cities that the municipality is always considering building new places to satisfy the inhabitants' needs. On the other hand, there is a second group of residents who see this as a waste of money, time, and energy. They see far beyond enjoying new places with modern technology. This group holds the view of investing for the future of their community. They argue if the existing public transportation is good enough to be updated and improved with less amount of money, there is no need to waste a large sum of money to build a new one for the sake of luxury. They see it more profitable if authorities prioritize the budget, and spend it on more important issues, or save it for a rainy day. I totally agree with the second group since there is no necessity to waste a country's resources on facilities which are already available, and can be improved easily. It is better for every country to think forward, to have big plans, and to spend their money on cases which can lead to their progress on a big scale. For instance, decision-makers can use their budgets to make new laboratories, or educational centers which will benefit them in the future. In conclusion, although a large number of people prefer to have newly-made modern railway lines to be used by passengers commuting between cities, I regard it as a wrong way to spend the resources which can be redirected to more essential sectors of communities.