Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Educational pundits in some quarters are of the opinion that it would benefit children to start learning a foreign language at primary school level instead of at high school. Though I believe that the gains of this accession will indeed be a plus as studying a foreign tongue at primary level is proven to improve a child's cognitive abilities. However, the drawback of this proposed learning option lies on the possibility of struggle for children with learning disabilities to cope with too much information. Children who already suffer from one or multiple learning disabilities will find it very difficult to adapt and follow instructions involved in studying a novel language due to the technicality in the teaching. A child can become disoriented and begin to develop phobia for the classroom due to the increased tension in the classroom. A study conducted by the American Psychological Association showed that children between the ages of 3 to 10 with learning disabilities with particular reference to dyslexia tend to struggle with recognizing sounds in speech, as well as patterns and spellings of unfamiliar words, though the condition tends to improve by 70 per cent from ages 14 and above. On the other hand, the advantages of learning a new way of speaking ay primary school rather than secondary school level cannot be overemphasized as this goes a long way to mold a child ’s brain there by increasing his or her capacity to be generally a more knowledgeable individual. A research carried out by faculty of education at the University of Chester found to that learning a different tongue at an early stage of life between the ages of 3 to 10 years improved a child's intelligence quotient by 90 per cent. To conclude, though learning a foreign language at an early stage of life rather than starting later in secondary school level has immense benefits as it enhances the intelligence of a child, it is also worthy to note the downside of this to children struggle with learning disabilities like dyslexia.