Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is such a long process for the court to give their decision on the crime, as higher authorities have to obey legal procedure before making the jump on the final comment, therefore, it takes years and years to come to the decision. So that, in order to make the legal process faster some individuals argue for the same punishment for every crime, whereas, another group of people denied the mentioned statement, as they stated that there should be different punishments for various crimes. This essay will discuss the above-listed views and then I will disclose my view on this. Everybody is aware of the long legal procedure of court to make their judgement for the particular crime. Therefore, On the one hand, some groups of people want the nation to announce a standardised penalty for every crime irrespective to speed up the court actions on criminals and clear up the country's past backlogs. For instance, in Uganda, national courts average take 6-7 years to announce their decision on lawbreakers. Hence, citizens of Uganda done protest to fast track the legal files. However, another group of people support the laid view. First and foremost, argue they do is the court cannot be biased by announcing same punishments to every criminal, as everybody is not murders or thieves, thus the court should keep their patience and try to hear every case and then decide what penalty should be given to whom, so, that innocents people will not endure as what others suffering. For example, if someone has been charged for a hit and run case, and another criminal had done someone murder; these two cases are not the same, therefore, both individuals will not be charged the same period of jail or this would be unfair for someone. To conclude, while some citizens want to make the legal process simple and quick, they believe there should be fixed punishments for each crime, I firmly support the other view which says there should be the different penalties for each crime and that totally depends on the court decision.