In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In many regions, more people have a greater risk of health problems due to the consumption of too much convenience food hence it is believed to impose a higher tax on junk food. Although I acknowledge the risks of this food, I think higher tax will do nothing to the quantity of fast food usage. On the one hand, various people are prone to health problems which arise from fast food consumption. As a fact, this kind of food including pizzas, hamburgers was produced at reasonable prices for all kinds of people. Therefore, people hardly ensure the quanlities qualities and sources of the ingredients which give rise to short-term problems such as food poisoning and long-term effects such as stomach cancer, obesity. An illustration of this is that in many Vietnamese fast food stores, many sellers use oil over once in order to gain more profit for their stores. On the other hand, increasing the tax on junk food does not mean the reduction of the fast food ’s users. The main reason is that some people consume much fast food, not because of the prices. In other words, they only focus on the convenience of fast food such as saving time and the availability. Therefore, they will continue to buy fast food regardless of the higher prices as they have no choice among the hectic schedule. Furthermore, imposing higher taxes affects negatively on some fast food ’s sellers who place a high value on the quality of the food. Clearly, they find it really challenging to balance not only the trust of customers but also the reasonable prices while the government puts them under higher tax pressure. As a result, they have to change to the unknown ingredients and lose their honesty or if not, they will gain less profit. In conclusion, while convenience food brings people many health problems, it is inessential to increase the tax on fast food.