Many people think it is very important to protect the environment but they make no effort to do it themselves. Why do you think it is the case? What actions can be done to suggest individuals protect the environment?

In recent years, the environment has become worse and it is noted that a majority of people have already understood the importance of the environment. It is true that people should be aware of the role that they can play in protecting the environment and there are actually many options for them to take actions on environmental conservation. To begin with, the reasons why citizens believe their behaviours have nothing to do with sustaining the environment are various. For one thing, some people do not know the relationship between car emissions and air pollution. In fact, exhaust fumes discharged by cars are causing irreversible damage as they contain carbon monoxide. For another, many people still hold the stereotype that the responsibility for environmental preservation rests with governments. They tend to focus on the problems such as industrial waste and desertification, which sometimes have no direct connection with people ’s behaviour. Furthermore, there are many ways for individuals to protect the planet. Firstly, as an individual, a person could try to restrain the use of disposable goods and things made by non-biodegradable materials. Utilising recyclable products can be significantly helpful for pollution reduction. Secondly, people seem to use electricity wastefully in workplaces as they do not need to pay the bills. If they live a low-carbon lifestyle such as reducing the time using air-conditioners and turning the lights off when they leave the offices, it would definitely ease the pressure of energy shortage. In conclusion, it is not enough for people to only realise the significance of maintaining the environment, I believe that everyone is responsible for environmental protection and this starts from their own actions.