Some people believe that it is necessary to protect the historical building in newly-developed cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, spaces for city construction become less due to population growth. However, there is a rising belief that the conservation of historical architecture in modern cities is essential. I totally agree with the idea as preserving old buildings is a way to protect a particular heritage. The main reason to support my position is that historic architectures are part of a city ’s heritage. They usually contain inherited traditions, monuments and cultures of a city. For example, Hutongs tell us how people lived in the past, which is a useful source for academic heritage researches. In addition, it is noted that many contemporary activities, meanings and behaviours in new cities are actually inspired by historic constructions, which means old buildings also play an important role in modern society. Another reason is that many old buildings are usually considered works of art. They give character to a city and thus become tourist attractions for the city. For instance, people tend to identify Beijing by architectural symbols like the Forbidden City. Over the past few decades, it has been a famous tourist destination in Beijing, providing great opportunities for foreign people to know the history and the culture in the city. Furthermore, in some urban cities, ancient architectures serve as either museums or other cultural sites, saving governmental fundings to reconstruct new buildings. In conclusion, I believe historic buildings should be protected, because they are integral part to the contemporary cities. They reflect the traditions, objects and cultures of the cities and make a contribution to modern civilisation such as art and lifestyles.