Some believe technology has made our lives too complex and the solution is to lead a simpler life without technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a widely-held belief that the simplicity of our lives has been impacted by technological advances, especially during the last century, and our lifestyle turned into a more complicated one. Some believe in solving this matter by living a more simple life without the use of technology. I do not agree with this notion due to the rationale which will be explained in this essay. Technology have offered a host of virtues in our lifestyles. Firstly, the most positive aspect may be that the advances in technology have led to many breakthroughs in different medical fields. These discoveries have led to development of diverse treatment ways of disparate diseases and a more straightforward life for patients and their families substantially. For instance, many diseases that had required hospitalization to be managed nowadays can be controlled by oral medications daily at patient’s home, which was not possible without the use of technology. Moreover, by the leading-edge technology, people can have long-distance communication with each other with their devices through voice or video calls, which leads to an effortless way of contacting under special circumstances. For example, during the Covid-19 crisis and the lockdown, people could do teleworking and actively participate in their working meetings online from their houses. Admittedly, those who agree with omission of technology from life to live in a simpler way may have adapted to the conventional ways of life and afraid of changing their habits. An alternative hypothesis may be that they do not have the know-how to use the modern technology, thus they refuse to use it. However, not using technology in today’s modern world may lead to an isolation from the world around us and more significant issues in our lives. To conclude, it appears that advances in technology have influenced our lives in a positive way and make living conditions more bearable for us, such as in disease conditions or in the lockdowns due to them. Nevertheless, there are always people who cannot or do not want to adapt to new transformations.