It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Learning the difference between right and wrong in childhood is necessary, because it could be said that punishment is an important way to let them learn good behaviour for the future. Generally, children do not know what is right or wrong, so they do everything or mimic activities and behaviour from their parents. Thus, they should take responsibility because olders people play an important role to teach them in order to be good citizens in the future due to thinking and learning development in childhood at this stage. Furthermore, they must learn it from punishment if they behave badly. For example, in the past, if children steal money from families without permission, they will be punished by using birch which makes them embarrassed. So, they will learn that this is wrong and will be punished if they do it again. In contrast, I think that it is not necessary to punish them with violence. It could be softer than that without shouting or aggression. For instance, if children hit a friend, it is the role of parents to talk, explain, and ask them to think twice about their mistake in this situation. This will explain to them know the reason why they are punished. Additionally, the parents may refuse to give a snack in one week as punishment. So, they will not do it again. In conclusion, it is correct that fathers, mothers and teachers should tell them what is good or bad. However, in my opinion, they can punish their child in order to improve their well-being and be a good person in the future.