More and more plastic is polluting cities, the countryside and oceans. What problems are caused by plastic waste? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the past few years, there has been an increase in plastic pollution. This essay will discuss the problems related to this followed by various solutions to tackle this issue. The first and major problem that this has caused is a rise in the deaths of marine animals. Plastic is being thrown into the seas and oceans, which are the habitat of several animals. Fishes may consume the plastic, thinking that it’s food. Since it’s toxic to them, they would have disease and eventually die. If humans eat seafood, they may also get sick. Another problem caused by this is that the natural resources and landscapes would be destroyed. This means that it may no longer look appealing. If a country relies on its landscapes for tourist attractions, it may lose its main source of income and that country would have a bad reputation. For example, Thailand is known for its beautiful beaches. If their beaches and islands are filled with waste, they would lose tourists. Moreover, there are several ways to tackle this issue. Firstly, the government should provide information on the harmful effects of plastic and encourage people to reuse, reduce and recycle materials. For instance, shops should stop providing plastic bags; instead, they should provide paper bags or charge a fee if customers want plastic bags. This would reduce the number of people using plastic. Furthermore, trash bins should be kept in every area so people can properly dispose of their waste, instead of littering. In conclusion, this pollution leads to the destruction of natural resources and habitats of animals as it is completely filled with plastic and waste. This issue could be solved by the interference of the government and by changing store policies.