Establishing good relationship in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of person is to focus on work. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is commonly debated that the first purpose of everyone is to focus on his/her job duties, while, being a lovely person with your colleagues is not essential. Although I agree that being productive is more important than trying to be friendly at work. I suppose that is preferable to make good relationships in the workplace. On the one hand, maintaining good relations with all employees is often hard and even counter-productive. Firstly, it is emotionally demanding to build friendships with office colleagues. It is almost impossible to serve every colleague’s needs and interests. For instance, if everyone tries to build good relationships with co-workers at the job, there are chances less work would be done. On the other hand, there are many reasons to get closer to your partners. First of all, it will be beneficial to forge warm relationships with those who work with you all the time. Many full-time employees spend their time with colleagues than they are supposed to do with their families. And thus, they are usually happier than their solitary peers. Secondly, good interpersonal relations results in good teamwork. It is often believed that team members who like and respect each other tend to achieve more productivity. In conclusion, I believe we need to find a healthy balance between productivity and good relationship at work. The ideal option is to find friends in the workplace, who help us with accomplishing our own yield.