It is more important to spend public money promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In a happy society, having a healthy way of life plays a crucial role. Because of this, a large amount of money has been spent to prevent diseases by encouraging a healthier lifestyle. However, some crowds argue that general finance should be used to treat patients who are suffering medical problems. From my perspective, while I agree to build healthy living, I believe that the treatment is equally essential. On the one hand, studies have shown that various illnesses nowadays are caused by an unhealthy way of living. This is because lots of diseases are the direct result of people’s habits. Take an example of obesity, which can be improved by reducing the consumption of fatty foods or sugar, and increasing the intensity of exercise. Furthermore, according to research by the CDC, promoting lifestyle modification is needed to control a range of diseases. As a result, the national burden of the diseases will be cut down. For example, the cardiovascular disease which is one of the most global burden diseases can be prevented through improving risk factors by the changes in lifestyle. On the other hand, numerous illnesses are unpreventable such as many forms of cancer, HIV/AIDS, some hereditary diseases, and so on. Consequently, patients who are already contracted these medical problems need long-term treatment. Taking into consideration, governments should come forward with a helping hand for those patients by implementing medical care policies. For instance, lots of free provide HIV medicines programs are supported by local authorities. In conclusion, both promoting a good lifestyle and spending money to treat patients who are being sick are equally important, and each country should develop flexible approaches to adapt to different situations.