Cultural shock is a growing-phenomena in migrants. What are its causes and effects on migrant.

Nowadays a staggering cultural impact is becoming an increasing phenomena among migrants. The main causes of it are people being conservative with their tradition, and discrimination faced in a workplace environment. The key impacts of this on the immigrants are health issues like depression and the development of cold feelings towards other cultures. The most important cause is that people are being bound too hard with their culture, this is to say, citizens of a country have been brought up adhering to a particular set of ethical and moral values since their childhood. Therefore, making them uncomfortable in a new culture. Also, discriminating the immigrants at the workplace causes feelings of cultural shock among them. When a person with different culture gets involved in a new working environment, others make him feel disadvantaged from several job opportunities that he in actual is capable of. For instance, in many Australian restaurants, English staff work at the front desk whereas Indian employers usually work in the kitchen section because of their communication style. The main impact of this cultural shock on the migrants is the health issues like depression. This is because, when a person goes out for work in a new culture, he has a lot of expenses with fewer job opportunities that make his life very disturbing and stressful. Furthermore, migrants are instilled with cold feelings towards other cultures. To say this, immigrants being discriminated by the cultural variant people enables them to think harshly about them for their non-hospitable behaviour. For example, challenges faced by western people of India in Punjab encouraged them to ban the entry of Punjabi people into their state. In conclusion, over possessiveness with one’s culture and discrimination faced by the migrants are the key reasons for the development of cultural shock that impact their mental well-being and inculcates the hated feelings for other cultures.