In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, many believe that people's life expectancy is higher than previous generations. Although some individuals think that the aging population has several merits, I would argue that its demerits are leading on the grounds that high risk of death cases and less competitiveness and productivity in the labour market. On the one hand, if the structure of the society is dominated by the older inhabitants, it may lead to an increasing probability of death cases. It cannot be denied that the study revealed there is a negative strong correlation between someone's health condition and age. Therefore, the older the age of the population, the higher the chance of suffering from serious illness due to lack of durability. As a consequence, it might lead to a significant rise in the death rate in some countries. In addition, another disadvantage of having a huge amount of vulnerable age groups is making the labour market less competitive and productive. Nowadays, the fact that numerous companies around the globe require multiple skills and knowledge which can only be aimed through attending specific training and formal education. Meanwhile, based on the research conducted by the UK's agency, older individuals are less likely to do so, because the majority of them are way too reluctant and closed-minded. As a result, it reflects the level of competition in the labour market becomes less competitive as well as lowers labour productivity. In conclusion, despite the fact that the elderly population might have several benefits to society, I, however, firmly believe that its drawbacks are more significant such as impacting the mortality rate and dropping the worker's productivity and competition in the job market system.