Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every five years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Some individuals argue that retaking driver’s tests every five years should be enforced. However, this statement has a positive and negative perspective because it can be a great system to find out a driver’s ability consistently, but on the contrary, the cost of the test can be quite expensive. Firstly, the pros of this argument are that it enables one to check the ability to drive frequently. Sometimes elderly people lose their skills because of physical and mental ageing. They can't react rapidly to situations or accidents and sometimes are unable to control their physical movement while driving. In addition, their mental decisions are not always trustworthy. For example, in Korea, there are thousands of accidents that result in uncontrolled physical reactions of elders. This results in a tragic situation, such as killing their young grandchildren sitting in the back seats of the car. On the other hand, there are cons as well. Individuals have to take the driving test every five years and this can be very stressful for citizens who can't afford the price. Especially, if their jobs are related to driving vehicles. For instance, if you are a taxi driver you have to pay a driving test fee every 5 years. Unfortunately, a large percentage of taxi drivers have low incomes compared to other jobs in Korea. It will be a huge pressure on the ones who have the right to regain their license frequently. In conclusion, while it is apparent that if the government forces people to take a driving test every five years the city will become safer, it is undeniable that the costs can be too much for drivers.