In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Younger generations in some countries have been taught about the ability to accomplish great things by trying hard. Although encouraging children to be determined brings about various benefits on an individual level and societal level alike, there are also possible shortcomings that should not be overlooked. To begin with, telling adolescents to try hard to achieve their goals is important for their own development as well as the society. On an individual level, higher levels of determination and hard work intensify the chances for children to gain great achievements in their education and career path. For example, when a student spends a tremendous amount of time studying for an exam, he or she would likely achieve better grades than those who care less about their study. Moreover, on a societal level, the effort and the achievement that individuals have can create a significant influence on their peers, hence it would produce a thriving and prosperous society full of determined characters. However, the habit of trying hard on every aspect of life would become a great burden to the children. Firstly, by continuously attempting to meet their goals, people can suffer from severe stress which eventually leads to burnout. Indeed, sometimes they need to lay back and enjoy themselves. For instance, Japanese and Korean office workers tend to work overtime in order to finish all their work tasks in time. Consequently, they often suffer from stress as they do not have time to take care of their mental and physical wellbeing. Furthermore, working in an environment full of hard-working employees brings about unnecessary competition between workers and thus discourages teamwork and motivation. In conclusion, despite the fact that children should be encouraged to gain great accomplishments by working hard towards their goals, there are several demerits caused to one's health and wellbeing that should be considered.