Numerous animal species worldwide are currently facing extinction. Some argue that countries and individuals should prioritize protecting these animals, while others believe resources should be focused more on human issues. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

In this day and age, several species are on the verge of extinction due to numerous reasons such as the diminishing of natural habitats and illegal poaching. While many people believe that nations all around the world and people should consider protecting biodiversity as their top priority, others claim that such effort and resources should be directed at solving existing domestic problems. The following essay is going to discuss both views and share my opinion about the given statement. On one hand, many people support preserving endangered wildlife since the mass extinction of organisms could disrupt the balance of the ecosystem. Firstly, each species plays a vital role in the food chain, thus the disappearance of specific types of animals could lead to a critical imbalance in the local area. Taking deer in North America National Park as an example, without the presence of coyotes, they grow dramatically in number, thus posing a threat to the local vegetation, hence the government has released the coyotes into the wild to control the deer population and prevent further damage to the natural habitats. Moreover, humans and animals are codependent on each other, and the annihilation of a breed could unleash disasters on society. For instance, when some marine life forms that have the ability to cleanse some water bodies die out, the local residents may be more likely to be vulnerable to diseases. On the other hand, individuals may argue that these resources should be directed at solving human-related concerns such as illiteracy or improving living standards. To start with, governments should focus their efforts on reducing the rate of illiteracy in remote areas. To exemplify, they could issue policies to promote education such as lowering school fees or in some regions, free public schools for the poor. As a result, a fully educated generation will emerge, thus bringing positive changes to the economy. Furthermore, the authorities could shift their focus to better standards of life. This is due to the fact that when citizens are overwhelmed by daily concerns, it is unlikely for the government to identify critical natural issues, as individuals would prioritize working and making wealth for their families, instead of paying attention to problems regarding animal extinction. In conclusion, while preserving endangered life forms is essential as animals have played an important role in balancing biodiversity and ecosystems, I believe that human-related issues such as living conditions and illiteracy should be considered the primary target, before diverting resources to tackle natural problems