Museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not by local people. Why is this so? What could be done to encourage more local visitors. Please include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is unquestionably true that every nation has its history which preserved in various places called historical places and museums. People visit these places at different times and occasions, but another fact is that nowadays tourists visit more on these sites than the local ones. I would discuss various reasons and their solutions in the below paragraphs. There are many reasons for this. First and foremost, most locals have been growing up in their area and have been studying all historic sites for a long time and do not want to visit local museums and historical places anymore. Locals already visited their attractions many times and did not interest anymore, unlike tourists. The second reason is, mostly the locals are busy in their daily work and they do not have free time but if they get free time they preferred to commute far away to do some adventurous activities rather than to visit the local sites. Moreover, the lack of promotion. All the historical places are taken care of by the government. The authorities do not spend money on advertising to promote the sites on different media sources like the internet, TV. Last but not least, another reason is the entrance fee; the authorities of these sites charge a hefty amount as an entrance fee, which reduces the number of people mainly local to visit heritage sites. There are some possible solutions which can attract local people to visit museums and historical buildings. First is, the government should organize events such as exhibitions, cultural activities on these sites to allure more people towards the place. Second is, authorities not only promote the sites on different media but also give some offers like ticket discounts to local people on selected days. For example, the school can give assignments related to the history of a country because this will motivate parents to take their children to the historical museums to collect useful information which will help them to get good marks in their studies or dancing show for children. To recapitulate, it is clear that local people avoid visiting museums and historical buildings due to their fees and some other reasons so, it is the duty of the government to give a modern look to these sites and should organize events in these places to attract native people.