You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries, only few young people go to classical music concerts or or play classical music. Why? Should young people be encouraged to attend and learn more? You should write at least 250 words.

Imagine being a classical musician in university and heading to the stage to play the piece that you have prepared without rest for three weeks. Yet, you could count the turn-up rate with your fingers. Well, that is the current situation with classical music concerts nowadays. Hence, in this essay, I will be exploring the reasons for the lack of enthusiasm among young people and state my opinion on how to make young people more proactive. A possible reason might be the costs involved in being more active in the world of classical music. The market price for a violin ranges from $650 to a few thousand depending on the quality, craftsmen and the skill level of the player. Additionally, items that are essential for a violin such as a bow, string and rosin would add up to a few hundred. Adding violin lessons would bump up the rate to at least $1000 if we were to exclude the purchase of the violin. In order to get a clear view, a price of $40 needs to be paid for classical music concerts. Taking into consideration that some young people might not have this much money to spare every year, it is inevitable that only a few attend. At the other end of the spectrum, they simply lack interest in the classical music world. Words that they often associated classical music with are 'boring' or 'time-consuming', which I can empathise with given that concerts usually last for three hours. Furthermore, with their poor knowledge of the pieces being played and the dexterity required for each piece, it is hard for them to truly appreciate and admire the musician's skills during the concert. Hence, they would prefer to remain distant from the classical music circle. Although I understand the reasons stated for their lack of interest, however, I do still subscribe to the belief that classical music should be advocated young people. I attribute their lack of interest to the lack of exposure they had to classical music. In order to spark their interest, I think that schools or the government have a role to play, especially during this age of exploring their hobbies and interests. If classical music was being introduced to them during their schooling years, the participation rate of younger people might ameliorate. In a nutshell, although the cost of being active within the classical music world is high, I still believe that young people should be more involved in the classical music scene.