In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

In the current century, some countries have been rolling up their sleeves to maintain competition inside schools as they believe it will push students over the edge. Forging ahead as well as surpassing themselves remain the main advantages, whilst giving up on their studies and mental health issues represent the major drawbacks. First and foremost, it is argued that competition will stretch scholars' thirst for success. Indeed, this trend is tremendously contributing to pushing children to enhance their level, thus, develop and managing their stamina during school years. When they start comparing themselves to other better scholars it nudges thrive for achieving good marks in order to be rewarded by their professors. They always learn from their mistakes while not reaching top rankings even if it makes them disappointed. For instance, schools always organize at the end of the year ceremonies to prize their top students. The main point is to reward outstanding pupils for their permanent slog. On the other hand, this tendency tends to cause calamitous side effects. Some of the children cannot follow the intense rhythm imposed by competitors. They find themselves swallowed by the difficulties they are facing. Consequently, that pushes some of them to drop their bundle and opt for another curriculum. These students need particular follow-up by tutors to not let them feel marginalized. In addition, those who realize that their saw was not sharpened to face this studies' fast pace are falling into depression. For example, mental health should be the workhorse of education, as a matter of fact, the burden of stress they are leaving because of rivalry can turn the spiral down to numerous mental diseases. To sum up, this aspect of education can be reoriented to drive the majority to overcome their limits. Schools should tackle this issue differently by procuring particular surveillance for those who are facing difficulties to manage their studies. This will result in involving every student and derive better statistics.