Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts argue that it is more beneficial for young people to start learning a foreign language as soon as possible rather than in secondary school. I think the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks. Children are better learners in the early stage of their lives. They have more active minds and stronger memory in primary school, so if they start learning a foreign language sooner, they will learn it faster and more deeply. They also have more free time in primary school, but subjects in secondary school like math and physics are more important and time -consuming, therefore, it is much easier for children to attend extracurricular activities such as foreign language classes when they are at primary school. For instance, I know many bilingual people and when asking them how fast they learnt a language, most of them confirm that the first one they learnt at an early age was much easier for them. However, it took them more time and energy to deeply learn the second one when they were older. On the other hand, secondary school students are more enthusiastic about learning a foreign language. They are also more mature in this level than primary school, which means that they understand the importance of being able to speak and understand another language in their social and professional life. They, consequently, become more curious and eager to learn. Furthermore, some may argue that children should spend more time playing and not being worried about the future. Nevertheless, teachers should illustrate the influence of knowing a foreign language on primary school students, so they should spend their time wisely learning an important subject rather than wasting it playing and joking around. In conclusion, I believe that learning a foreign language at primary school has more advantages rather than secondary school, and any drawbacks can be easily resolved.