Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the communication between people and friends has changed thanks to the evolution of technology, which gives us the opportunity to not need to write any more letters. The development of the internet has caused such change in society. Therefore, I agree with this topic that writing letters are no longer necessary as a means of communication. Firstly, everybody’s lifestyle has changed in the last two decades, becoming very busy personal and business-wise. The modern development of working at an office requires us to be very efficient and quick. For this reason, we are always looking for something that would make our lives easier and faster, in which case, the way we communicate with others. For example, persons no longer need to leave the confinement of their workspace to pass information. The use of emails has made communicating with employees and bosses so much easier with responses within minutes. Technology has improved work life and does not require the tedious tasks of writing letters. Secondly, in modern evolution, we do not communicate with our friends or pen pals by writing letters. Letters can get misplaced or take a longer process, however, the use of social networks has become more efficient and faster. Furthermore, it would be difficult to find someone who still uses the old communication’s system. As an instance, when I started my first work experience, it was very informal to operate a social network as a system to communicate with customers, despite everyone having started the adoption of them. Nowadays, it is strongly recommended by marketing experts to put logos of social networks on business cards. In conclusion, I believe that we do not need to write letters anymore because at this point in our lives the world has developed with technology being more advanced. Therefore, modern communications take the place of the old transmission of written information.