Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and polution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, what is the best way to solve increasing traffic and pollution problems is a controversial topic. Although I can understand the rise in the price of petrol is effective to some extent, I disagree with the idea. This essay, as my opinion leads to, will try to elaborate on reasons and the more effective measures with some considerations. To commence with, as many people as possible should use public transportation like buses and trains and the governments should spend money on improving these infrastructures in terms of the environment. In other words, one of the productive ways is not increasing the price of gasoline but rising the number of users of public transportation. To give an illustration of this, the number of stations should be increased and there should be much more trains and buses scheduled. As a matter of fact, almost all of the people who lived in Tokyo use trains because train fees are cheap relatively and there are more trains scheduled, which means that the next train will come in 10 minutes or less. Conversely, there are suburban areas in Japan where people have to wait for 30 minutes for the next train to come, which means that they consider cars more convenient. Therefore, there is no doubt that the governments should make transportation systems more convenient for local people because public transportations play an important role in solving today's social problems about traffic and pollution. Additionally, another successful way is to spend more money on an investment in the development of eco-friendly cars in order for people to buy these cars at a lower price, I suppose. That is to say, cars existing in the 1900s have to be replaced with a new green automobile. It is mainly because, the former's cars generate carbon dioxide gases in the Earth atmosphere,unfortunately, leading to an acceleration in the pace of global warming. In addition, another reason is that the average consumer cannot afford to buy a new non-polluting car. For instance, normal automobiles are five times cheaper than environment-friendly cars. That is why both being inexpensive and eco-friendly are essential points when it comes to solving these social problems. To sum up, it is true that the rise in the price of petrol is an effective way; however, I personally believe that the governments should spend more money on both innovations of public transportations and green cars because if society continues to consume the Earth's natural resources, in the near future there could be conflicts like wars staring over the remaining resources.