Online shopping becomes more common these days. What effect could this have on the environment and the types of jobs required?

In recent years, online shopping has become more and more ubiquitous. This translation has numerous negative impacts on the environment and causes a huge change in employment. This essay will first suggest that the main effects on the environment caused by this phenomenon are fossil fuel exploitation and overflowing garbage, and then inform that massive unskilled labours, traders and developers are required. The first and foremost effect resulting from the inflation of e-commerce is energy resources which are extremely limited being depleted. As digital shopping is used throughout the world, the delivery process requires a vast amount of energy. Furthermore, using fossil fuel emits carbon dioxide into the atmosphere which will worsen the global warming situation. The experts from UNEP point out that if we keep burning coal and oil at this current rate, by 2050, the global temperature will rise by 2 degrees celsius, thus bringing about natural disasters. Secondly, waste from packaging is produced and subsequently disposed of to the environment. Some trash such as plastic can not be decomposed, and is dangerous to animals if they eat it. Moreover, litter can destroy animal habitats, and contaminate water sources. Additionally, merchandise distribution required various fields of work, ranging from unskilled labours, retailers to computer experts. A massive workforce is required for packing, unpacking and delivering and retailers are for selling and satisfying customers demand. Lastly, software developers are also in need order to build attractive shopping platforms. In summary, the growth of virtual stores creates harmful ecological influences, in particular fossil fuel depletion and excess rubbish, which leads to climate change and ecosystem destruction. Besides, a variety of jobs, labours, retailers and developers, are in need of this phenomenon.