A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other method. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that being in jail for a long time is not as good as other ways of punishment for criminals. I fully agree with the notion that other methods are better than just imprisoning those who break the law. To begin with, being in a prison depends on the law that the prisoner breaks. For instance, If you break a law that is not very vital for society and it doesn't hurt anyone, being in prison for a long term is not a good punishment. Additionally, even for some extreme crimes, the principles can manage other methods of punishment besides their imprisonment. On the other hand, one of the most common methods for those who break the law is community works. A good illustration of this can be cleaning the environment for those who break the law related to polluting nature by throwing out garbage. This can teach lawbreakers a good lesson of that. However, there are a lot of methods for each crime and they can be in different levels. If you break a law which affects other people’s lives and it can damage public facilities, the level of punishment should be higher. Everybody in society is responsible for their actions and you should know breaking the law has consequences. To conclude, the government can make society a better place for all the people who live in the same environment by managing various methods like community work to provide a better place to live. As a matter of fact, imprisonment is an old method and we need to spread more legality in society nowadays. The more legality we have in society, the more respect can people have to each other and laws prescribed by the principles.