In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In the UK, we see hundreds of senior citizens being put into nursing homes, which are homes that constitute of a community of other old people and have nurses to look after them. This often occurs as the older individual's family may not have the time nor the facilities to adequately care for them. However, these nursing homes require similar facilities and resources to care for these older individuals that often cost a lot of money. Which is why sometimes governments have to pay for this care. Yet, there exists a debate on whether it is the government or the family's duty to pay for these nursing homes. Personally, I believe that the cost should be incurred by the family considering that they have a personal obligation to look after and ensure the efficient care of their older family member. We see that, most often than not, these older family members spent a significant time within their more youthful days looking after and caring for the rest of their family. For example, as a grandmother, this individual would have taken the care and effort to raise not only their children but their grandchildren as well. Considering the service and time these older individuals dedicated towards the rest of their family, it is only right that these families should take on the burden of paying for their care in these nursing homes, as it is a simple way of showing their gratitude towards them and all they have done. Similarly, when these individuals ' families take on the obligation of incurring this cost, this in turn ensures that these older individuals receive adequate and efficient care within these nursing homes. How does this happen? Although, the government may have the funds to pay for this care, they have no personal connection or obligation towards these older individuals. They are simply another citizen and another bill to pay. Which means that even if they do provide adequate funding for these nursing homes, the government is unlikely to look into the maintenance aspects or fund additional costs, such as renovation, that these places may require. Thus, this leads to older individuals not being able to receive the best care that they deserve. However, families do have a personal connection to these older individuals as they are are their own flesh and blood, which means they are more likely to look into other aspects of care within these nursing homes and may even be willing to fund additional costs because they are aware that their older family member will benefit as a result of this. Therefore, when families pay for this care it allows for more efficient and well-funded nursing homes, allowing for better care for these older individuals. In conclusion, I think that it is best that families rather than the government pay for their older family member's care within these nursing homes, as it allows for better functioning nursing homes and overall better care for these senior individuals.