Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, learning a foreign language is one of the most important subjects in school. There are even some experts who think this subject should be taught at primary school rather than secondary school. In my opinion, I completely agree with the idea and I will support my view with examples. To begin with the disadvantages, instead of learning a new language, students should spend more time in primary school to study fundamental syllabus, like mathematics, social values, etcetera. This is because foreign new languages will not contribute a direct positive impact at that time. Therefore, at an early stage of their life, expecting them to have many competencies, including foreign language, will potentially reduce their playing time with friends. As a consequence, they lose their childhood joy. Nevertheless, some researchers reveal that children’s first 10 years are the best period to enhance their brain capacity. One of the most effective methods to sharpen the capacity is by mastering a new language. The reason for this, when children memorize new words and observe the sentence pattern, this process is able to improve their cognitive skills. In addition, understanding this course will not burden primary school students as long as the educational pedagogy has an attractive approach. To illustrate, if the teachers combine colourful flashcards and games to improve vocabulary, children as a learner will enjoy this memorizing step. To sum up, although studying a foreign language at primary school is not a priority skill, I believe an attractive syllabus will not burden their cognitive capacity so much and the benefits will outweigh the drawbacks.