In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

It is quite common these days for young people in many countries to have a break from studying after graduating from high school. The main benefit of this trend is that they can gain some experience and get admission in top universities and the major drawback is that it can affect their grades in college. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why youngsters are encouraged to have a break and some of the challenges faced by them. Undoubtedly the benefits of taking a break from the study are plentiful. One of the prominent benefits is that students can get enrolled themselves in the best universities because of the experience that they can gain while working during the break. In other words, some universities such as Harvard University and Stanford University prefer students with some work experience. Therefore, students can be selected in these colleges easily because they have an additional year's experience than the other students. For instance, people who have spent some time earning a living tend to be more independent, which is a very important factor in academic study and research. Another benefit would be that, during this year, the student meets different people and experiences different cultures. It will help them discover their hidden passions, make better choices in their life and focus on their potential career options. The major disadvantage of this approach is that they might get low scores in their academics because they can be distracted from their studies. That is to say that, when students rejoin college after a long break, it can be difficult for them to concentrate on their studies. As a result, it can affect their academic performance, and they may get lower grades. In conclusion, although there are some advantages to traveling or working between high school and university, in my opinion, the disadvantages of this practice outweigh the advantages.