Young people who commit crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The newest research, on the BBC, has considered whether children should take the same responsibility for their poor behaviour as the old part of the nation. I strongly disagree and believe that young folks should not be treated like that. My point of view, I will support with relevant arguments and examples. Children's period of growth last for a large range of time. During it, they have a chance to fully develop their personalities by gaining experience. Consequently, they are obligated to make numerous decisions that may have good or poor consequences, but from even the worst situation they conquer a necessary knowledge for the future life. In other words; world exploration. For example, inexperienced folks can try various activities, such as stealing from the shops, running away and fighting with a random citizen. Usually, for these kinds of actions, mature humans can go to prison. If the student has made an unfortunate decision that would bring him to prison, he would not have any possibility to graduate a school. As a result, he would struggle with finding a job, because of his criminal records, but mostly because of a lack of essential education. For instance, for the moment while being outside of the real world, he would not be able to acquire any social skills, such as communication and time management skills. What is more, the citizen would not have any financial security. To sum up, as far as I am concerned the demerits far more overshadow any merits. New developing personalities must have time to enhance their person without any poor consequences, which would have an effect on their future being.