Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than showing the cultures or artworks from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art is known to be a way to express feelings, convey particular ideas and cultures. Paintings, drawings and sculptures have always been an international heirloom that we have the onus to transmit to future generations. This essay strongly disagrees with the following flawed perspective that states museums and art galleries should not display international pieces and rather focus on their local artwork. First and foremost, intertwining local and international pieces will lead countries to broaden their culture. Indeed, through this blend, we can exchange ideas and cultures with other artists that can result in creating many partnerships. In addition, by displaying foreign artwork, museums and art galleries will obviously raise the image of the country and gain much popularity while exposing local art pieces. Local artists struggle to be famous, therefore, if their country lends them a hand they will both benefit from this trend. For instance, it is noticeable that many countries who organize art events actually display international artwork as well as invite those international artists in order to meet their local ones. On the other hand, this tendency aims to have financial purposes. It is crystal clear that if galleries own foreign masterpieces they will obviously attract more people, thus, realizing net profits. The most popular art museums in the world are known to possess priceless paintings and that is what brings art lovers to visit these institutions. For example, the Mona Lisa, also called Portrait of Lisa Gherardini, oil painting on a poplar wood panel by Leonardo da Vinci, probably the world’s most famous painting. It now hangs in the Louvre Museum, Paris, where it remained an object of pilgrimage in the 21st century. The sitter’s mysterious smile and her unproven identity have made the painting a source of ongoing investigation and fascination. To sum up, art is all about sharing, exchanging, receiving, and giving. I totally believe that it has nothing to do with working in silos and focusing on local works. In contrast, it will always boost the world's unity in order to enhance and grow together.