The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, science plays a crucial role in enhancing the quality of human life in various fields. Hence, I strongly agree with this idea that the ultimate goal of science should be the advancement of human well-being as well as I will elaborate more on my standpoints in the essay below. First and foremost, scientific research assists in, for instance, the medical revolution. The covid-19 pandemic clearly exemplifies the positive impetus of science as during that period, the advanced technology and vast knowledge in medicine used to produce vaccines succored humankind to continuously survive. Apart from being helpful to patients, science also yields many groundbreaking discoveries such as cars, planes, and smartphones, ameliorating living standards. These innovations have become an essential part of the citizens nowadays as they facilitate people's daily lives to be easier. Nevertheless, there might be some limitations or negative consequences associated with the environmental perspective, for example, natural resource depletion and carbon emission. In order to manufacture a car, the process requires many types of natural resources such as rubber, iron, and coal which most of them are renewable materials. In addition, cars which are the result of progressive scientific competence are considered to be a main carbon gas emission source, contributing to climate change as well. Therefore, regardless of its advantages towards nature, science is also a factor aggravating the societal problem. In conclusion, it is undeniable that science has been shaping our world until today. Despite the rising environmental contentions, in my opinion, there is still absolutely no doubt about what should be the primary goal of scientific knowledge other than to elevate people's well-being.